Right, I’ll nail my colours to the mast here. I simply do not believe the recent findings from smartphone company HTC. According to them, from a survey of 2000 Britons aged 18 to 30 years of age, men post an average of 3 selfies a week. Women post an average of 1.6. They conclude that men post nearly twice as many selfies as women do.

This flies in the face of commonsense and empirical evidence. Women post selfies as they’re getting ready to go out, often more than one as they have an existential clothes crisis. Then they are relentless in their onslaught during the night out on the razz with the girlies. Here’s me on my first marguerita. Me on my third. Here’s me 15 sambucas in. Here’s me thinking the last Bailey’s and Drambuie was a mistake. Here’s me with the rather dishy copper. Me insdie the police van.

Women also change their profile pictures on Facebook more often than most people change theit socks, and they almost invariably use selfies. Here’s my new hairstyle. What do you think about these shoes? Love this dress!

Men post more selfies than women do? Nonsense.

