I’m pleased to announce the return of the Alphabet Diet. Those of you with long memories will remember this publishing phenomenon from 2013, and if you don’t all you have to do is run a search on the words, but as ever I’m trying to surf the success from that year. However, in 2016 there’ll be a twist.

I guarantee that no sooner has Big Ben stopped chiming, the newspapers will be full of cod-science articles on how to get back in shape after the excesses  of Christmas and New Year. I further guarantee that there’ll be a substantial number of guides to detoxing. I myself believe the entire concept of detoxing to be complete twaddle, because if your liver and kidneys aren’t doing that job on a daily basis then you’re in deep doodoo. But I see no reason why that should stop me from jumping on the bandwagon. I can’t beat them so I may as well join them.

Hence 2016 will see the launch of my all new, all singing, all dancing, Alphabet Detox Diet. I reckon it’s a winning formula, and it will include a novel use for ozone.

