This is one of those stories that makes you raise your eyes to the heavens, and requires you to do some ‘In through the head, out through the feet’ breathing exercises.

There’s a tourist attraction in Devon called The Big Sheep. It’s effectively a glorified petting zoo with a few rides to rip people off. One of these rides is a rollercoaster called The Big One, but if you do a bit of research you’ll see that’s a bit of a misnomer.

Anyway, at the entrance there’s a sign. It says this.

‘This is a family ride not a white knuckle thrill ride. Enjoy the views but we love our neighbours. Please do not shout or scream. Thank ewe.’

I’ll not go into detail as to why the last two words make me want to grab somebody by the throat. From the pictures I’ve seen it seems to me unlikely there’d be much screaming anyway, but part of the fun of being on a rollercoaster is yelling fit to break your eardrums. They have a similar sign next to the Chair-o-Plane ride. Killjoys.

Then there’s the ‘We love our neighbours’ guff. ‘We love our neighbours so much we encourage thousands of people to drive through the village and past their property to get to us so we can rob you blind.’

The name of The Big Sheep seemed familiar to me, because I was sure I’d blogged about it previously. Indeed I had, way back in my blogging career in 2012. Here’s a link to the original.

https://nobodysreadingme.wordpress.com/2012/10/04/baa-baa-black-sheep/

I’d only been clogging up the ether for about three months when I drew the attention of my approximately five readers to the lunatic Rick Turner, who runs The Big Sheep. He considered suing the Met Office for a forecast for the Bank Holiday weather that was a bit dour, and he claimed that it cost him thousands of pounds in lost revenue. I told you he was a rip-off merchant.

Before I forget, Bank Holidays at The Big Sheep are a bit like the Cheltenham Festival of the ovine world, because that’s when they get the biggest crowds for the sheep racing.

Still on the topic of tourism, Rhode Island in the US has had to pull an advert because the opening scenes were unfortunately of Reykjavik in Iceland. Oopsie.

