Because I’m a halfwit, I scheduled this a week later than I intended. Lackaday.

*****

 

So much choice, so few words and so little time.

Places beginning with G

Gillingham

The one in Dorset (pronounced with a hard initial G) is OK, or so I’m led to believe. The one in Kent (pronounced with a soft initial G) is twinned with Mordor

Glasgow

No comment needed

Godalming

What you say when you arrive there for the first time. And every subsequent time

Gravesend

An early one would be a blessed relief from this hovel of a place. It’s on the Thames estuary, about opposite Tilbury (qv). Like so many awful places, it has a whopping big powerstation. Unlike Ferrybridge though, it also has miles and miles of mudflats of no charm whatsoever

Grays

Twinned with Gillingham, but even Sauron won’t live there

Grimsby

The name says it all

Guildford

I have no idea why this place exists, or why people live there

