I awoke on Wednesday to the not very pleasing news that TFF is now pretty much a shoo-in for the Goptard nomination. This is the result of the other madman in the running, the completely uncharismatic and deeply stupid Rafael ‘Ted’ Cruz, having pulled out. This happened only a couple of days after he ‘picked’ that nutter Carly Fiorina as his running mate. Amusingly she did a rather splendid faceplant at a rally, and the gallant Ted ignored her. I’d have been tempted to do the same.

Mind you, let’s not ignore the fact that Rafael Eduardo’s decision to have the perennial also-ran as his putative Veep wasn’t one he could make. The VP candidate has to be nominated by party convention.

So now we have the orange FF with his ludicrous hair looking as if he’s going to the polls to become the leader of the free world. Come on, people in the US. You can do better than that, surely?

However, it may not all be doom and gloom. The Goptards hate TFF with a passion, and in the unlikely event of The Weave sticking his feet under the desk in the Oval Office they’re going to do their level best to get in his way as they have for the past eight years of Obama. That would be weird, wouldn’t it? Their man makes it, and then they go all sulky on him and take their bat and ball and go home.

Then we have the fact that it’s looking increasingly likely the GOP will get a pounding in both Houses in the Congressional elections. I can’t see the Democrats having any truck with the citrus-coloured one, so they’ll be sticking the knives in too. Unless there’s a slew of Executive Orders, which the GOP objected to on principle anyway, The Fat Madman will be completely hamstrung.

I rather wish that the Grandpa Munster lookalike had stayed in the race just to split the vote, because then the Republicans would have been cast into outer darkness for the foreseeable future.

Meanwhile, on the Democrat side of things. If I were Hillary, I’d make it known that if I got the nomination I’d really like Sanders to run with me, and Sanders should return the favour. I think that would be an unstoppable combination. It would put an end to all the ‘If he/she gets the nomination I’ll not vote in protest.’ I expect that from the GOP but not the Democrats.

