Have I mentioned to you my antivaxxer chemtrail correspondent? If I hadn’t, I have now. Her heart’s in the right place, but vaccines do not cause autism, nor do they poison children with aluminium, and they don’t have foetal cells in them. Chemtrails are not the government trying to poison us, because they don’t exist. They’re an atmospheric phenomenon, not bioweapons.

One she gets the bit between her teeth, there’s really no stopping her. Best treatments for cancer? Frankincense is ‘3000 times’ more potent than chemotherapy. Oddly enough, that the same increase in efficacy offered by turmeric. Ginger is apparently the dog’s bollocks when it comes to antineoplastic agents. I pointed out that they eat a lot of ginger in India, which has some of the highest rates of cancer in the world.

She’s off on one again this week, promulgating a supposedly scientific article. The second paragraph reads as follows.

‘Do you have any idea of the recent number of deaths because this secret was jealously kept in order to protect large corporations?’

I love a good conspiracy theory, and working in pharma as I did, I know full well it’s not an industry staffed by altruists. Anyway, I read on, to discover the secret that had been hidden.

‘Numerous studies have proven the anti-cancer properties of lemon.’ Gosh, I never knew that! Mind you neither did anybody else, since it’s unproven. I’d also like some citations for the claim.

‘Lemon also provides other benefits, including its strong power in treating cysts and tumors.’ Wow! It treats tumours as well as cancer! Good news from Ghent! Still no references though, which is troublesome.

‘Lemons have the power to cure all cancer since it (sic) has been tested on all cancer types.’ That must have been quite an undertaking, since there are literally hundreds of human cancer types. Big screening programme, that. With no references to it.

‘Adding baking soda makes it even more powerful, because baking soda brings pH to normal level.’ Hang on what about that article you sent out the other week about how cancers can’t develop in an acidic environment?

I needn’t really go on. If you fancy a laugh, go to

www.healthyfoodhouse.com

and look under Natural Remedies. You may not be too keen on using maple syrup and raw onion to treat your child’s asthma, or your own for that matter.

I’d really like my dingbat correspondent to be right, but I don’t think she is. However, in light of the recent warning that drinking alcohol is linked to cancers of various types, maybe two slices of lemon in you V&T might be a wise precaution.

