WP Scheduler had a bad time this week, so some of you have seen this already. Sorry about that

******

I’m a bit of a stickler about how people give me phone numbers. It’s a bit like my fretting about the way to serve a fry-up, in that the reaction is somewhat disproportionate to the stimulus. Let me take, as an example, my old phone number. Don’t bother trying to ring it, you’re doomed to bitter disappointment.

07884 181993

If you try it from abroad, it would be 0044 7884 181993 or, as I’m sure you’re aware, the more convenient +44 7884 181993. Now if you were trying to tell me what that number is, this way of doing it will not work for me.

+447 8841 8199 3

My brain isn’t wired to grasp that. I’ll look at you in blank incomprehension. I genuinely won’t process it. I’d have to get you to write it down to get any sense out of it.

Now. Gimme this, I’ll get it right out of the hat.

+44 7884 181 993

That’s the way my head works. You may think that dumb, but it’s not. I can’t process the figures any other way.

idiot

While I’m on the subject of phones and processing information, let me make a conceptual  leap to something you might be aware of but may not know the reason for. Ever noticed that if you listen to a phone with your right ear, then swap to your left ear, the voice sounds different? Same person, same volume, and it’s still qualitatively different. Try it.

The reason, so I’ve been told, is that the brain has very cleverly evolved so that info from the left side of your body is processed in the right side of your brain, and vice versa. I imagine there’s some selection pressure so that massive unilateral damage doesn’t result in total loss of function.

Anyway, here’s the deal. The right side of your brain deals with the ‘softer’ side of thoughts, the emotional content. The left side of your brain deals with factual stuff. Yes, I know this is a gross oversimplification, but it’s good enough.

So it you want the call simply to give you the facts, use your right ear. Want a better idea of what’s going on in the emotional background? Use your left ear.

Please note. This will not work if you’re deaf as a post in one ear.

trumpet

