Just a quickie today, since pretty well nobodyreadsme on a Sunday.

In the Town Square here, they’ve had a mobile NHS Health Check unit for the past week. The idea is you roll in, get your lung function, weight, blood pressure, blood sugar, and cholesterol checked, and they tell you you’re very naughty and are going to die unless you see the error of your ways.

I think the idea of preventative medicine like this is admirable. However, they may need to exercise a bit of common sense. The unit is located just outside my local watering hole, and I was heading in there on Friday when one of the people running the unit approached me.

‘Excuse me sir, would you be interested in a free health check?’ she asked brightly.

I smiled at her and said, ‘I’m just going into the pub for a beer.’

‘Aah. Yes. Well, thank you.’

